By Staff Reporter

As the by-elections slated for the 26th of this month draw closer, Chief Justice Luke Malaba has appointed 18 high court judges to constitute the Electoral Court that will handle matters related to the election.

According to the Electoral Act, the court is mandated to hear appeals, applications and petitions related to the elections, but will not try criminal cases.

Judge President Justice Maria Zimba- Dube is joined on the Electoral Court by Justice Munamato Mutevedzi, Justice Martin Makonese and Justice David Mangota, among other judges.

The other members of the Electoral court are Justice Garainesu Mawadze, Justice Amy Tsanga, Justice Esther Muremba, Justice Moses Foroma, Justice Benjamin Chikowero, Justice Phildah Muzofa, Justice Isaac Muzenda, Justice Sunley Zisengwe, Justice Never Katiyo, Justice Elijah Makono and Justice Lucie-Anne Chipo Munewari.

28 parliamentary seats will be contested on the 26th of March, while 144 wards will also be filled through the by-elections.

Related Articles

Back to top button